La Dolce Far Niente

kukka

After two wonderful summer jobs I’m finally on a holiday which I’ve been looking forward to quite a while. Going straight to work after my final exams maybe wasn’t the greatest of choices considering how high my stress levels were back then but I’m glad I started early because that only meant a much needed boost for my savings. I’m so thankful that I got to spend my summer in two such awesome jobs, I had a blast and I truly hope to find a job in the future that is as enjoyable as my experiences this summer.

The only thing that I rather dislike about holidays is that I don’t really know how to actually enjoy doing nothing. A voice in the back of my head keeps insisting that I really should be doing something more meaningful with my life than watching The Vampire Diaries on Netflix. My brain doesn’t seem to be able to register the fact that sometimes it’s okay to just have a break from everything and literally do nothing. It’s hard for me to stay positive when I do nothing because I feel like I’m wasting time and that makes me depressed. But at the same time I know that I need some kind of recess in order to gain both mental and physical strength. Well, the human mind can be ever so confusing and I’m intrigued to find even more about it through my endless disharmony with it.

Maybe I should take a trip to Italy to explore the concept of La Dolce Far Niente properly… Or take a real Eat Pray Love- journey to spice up my gap year.

Leave a Reply

